A ‘update’ regarding possible licensing issues with Viewfinder…

(See The ‘Finder series’…”rescued”? )

Interesting little note from a member of the [bobof-updates] (Boys-on-boys-film) yahoo-mailing list:

A couple of years ago I was at a Media Blaster’s panel at Otakon.  During the panel the guy talked about how Yamane Ayano is very picky about who licenses her manga and has a lot to do with the process, and has final say after she see’s the finished product.  So, hopefully she does the same thing with DMP and that will stop any censorship.

Though, I have this feeling that (censorship aside) the thing that will annoy me the most is the fact that June’s book are just. SO. FREAKIN’. HUGE. (compared to most Japanese tankoubons). Oh, DMP.

EDIT: Interview with DMP was posted yesterday: Digital Manga Reveals More About New Yaoi License, The Finder Series

Looks like B6 size is go! Sweet.

3 Comments

Filed under Censorship?, DMP, English BL publishers, licensing, Yamane Ayano

3 responses to “A ‘update’ regarding possible licensing issues with Viewfinder…

  1. Hello hello.=) I found your post through the pingback function.

    I asked the mod of the YA LJ comm regarding the Omnibus version. I really didn’t read her post like that so when I read your interpretation, I was immediately worried.

    Here’s her answer to my question:
    “Sorry I was unclear. They’re coming out in single volumes, but I was told they wanted to have the first three released by Yaoi-con. I don’t know if it’s possible for them to do that, but I heard that’s what they’re shooting for. :)”

  2. Err. I guess Michelle Mauk of DMP had another answer.. http://manga.about.com/b/2010/03/15/digital-manga-reveals-more-about-new-yaoi-license-the-finder-series.htm

    Well, at least it’s still not an omnibus.

Leave a Reply

